top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmorie Estep

Freedom Over History: Reframing Our Past

Updated: Jan 29, 2020





Trying to wrap our heads around the idea of and talk about slavery, is something many of us as teachers might struggle with. Ashley Bryan brings 11 slaves and their dreams to life in this beautiful picture book. On each spread, there is a drawing of the "character" with the original documentation/plantation papers behind them as well as a poem about what their life was (most likely) like. It refers to their lives in relation to those they serve. On the following spread for each of the 11 slave characters, there is a "Dreams" poem that is much prettier and more upbeat visually than the previous. The poems here are based on their true life, how they became in the position they are in, and things they love and cherish. There is also a picture with the dreams poem that are very colorful and depict a seemingly happy, joyous life. The 11 characters are Peggy, Stephen, Jane, John, Athelia, Charlotte and her daughter Dora, Bacus, Qush, Mulvina, and Betty. All of these slaves lived at the same plantation with the same owner. This book teaches us the terrible set up a slave had to endure in the most child-friendly way there is, through art and poetry.


This is the first spread for each character, outlining their life as a slave.

This is the second page for each character, outlining their life as a human being. Past, present, and dreams.


IN THE CLASSROOM:


I found some discussion questions from the article, Discussing Racial Trauma Using Visual Thinking Strategies by Roberta Price Gardner, that we read this week. This article dove into how to ask these questions with another book, Congo Square by Carole Boston Weatherford and R. Gregory Christie. This set of questions is written and thought of specifically for analyzing photos in texts or text sets. The questions are pretty vague in the sense they could be applied to lots of different texts, analyzing them and thinking critically. I think they are a good set to remember when talking about anything that would urge feeling from students.


1. What is happening in this picture?

2. What do you see that makes you say that?

3. How does what you see make you feel?

4. What does seeing this image make you wonder?

5. What questions do you have about what is happening, and what would you change in this picture?




Other classroom resources:



Get inspired:





Persona Poem Related to "A Crack in the Sea"


PIP

Template I based my Poem off of from "Freedom Over Me"

I am special that I can only recognize

you in ways other than faces, something everyone focuses on too deeply

I do let Kinchen stand up for me, as that is what big sisters do


Under the Raft King's instruction of promises

I set goals for myself, making sure I chose wisely

My gift has made me a target, many aim for

I'm taken as a tool to speak with the sea


This makes me feel like I have a purpose

To know I am needed in this world of worlds

Whenever I am called, I speak with those deep, deep below,

convincing them to aid in my persuasions

I chose to have my own voice, thanks to Kitchen and the creatures alone

I tell those around me to choose their own path

To avoid or join the Raft King's new ideals and promises


My persuasive and honest words to the creatures below,

We understand each other uniquely

In water and land

the comforting words:

"be quiet and let me talk"!!




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page