top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmorie Estep

Reflecting on Your Own Poetry



Original Poetry Reflection:


My personal feelings about reading Poetry:

I enjoy reading poetry but sometimes it does make me feel a little silly sometimes when I can't understand it, or find part of it "meaningless". Just meaningless to me though, I know it means something or else it wouldn't be written. I feel like sometimes I just don't get it.


Writing Poetry:

Writing poetry is hard for me but has become easier for me through this class and TAKR. Its honestly a little (and by that I mean very) intimidating or at least can be. I think it helps that we are writing in a place that we don't have to share. I know I would be writing differently (and probably not as good of stories to be honest) if I knew someone was going to be reading it or that I had to share it.


Teaching Poetry:

I feel pretty confident actually teaching poetry because I think kids are always so excited to share their stories, that it won't be a problem to ask them to write about something they want.With the "Mentor Texts" book we have, I feel ready to teach. It has such great examples that are easy to follow. I think teaching poetry is just something also that you learn with experience. However, modeling what I want them to do and having writing journals as well as coming up with unique topics for writing, I am excited more than anything to teach.



My criteria for how I know I have read a really good poem:

I think I know I have read a "really good poem" when I either a) understand what the author is trying to get across or b) that poem makes me think of something personal, evokes a feeling or memory of my own.


A “Poetry Environment” in my classroom:

A classroom poetry environment in my classroom will hopefully be a relaxed one. I would be sure and enforce writing journals and daily entries, even if its just for a minute or two in the mornings. Modeling writing poetry in a relaxed manner is also important to me, making sure no one is intimidated. I think a good way to accomplish that is by ALWAYS publishing students' work.



Revised Poetry Reflection:


My personal feelings about READING Poetry:

WRITING Poetry:

TEACHING Poetry:

My criteria for how I know I have read a really good poem:

A “Poetry Environment” in my classroom:




 


Firefly July:







This was such a lovely collection of poems that were genuine and kid friendly. Once of my favorite ones was the very first page- "Daybreak reminds us- the hills have arrived just in time to celebrate." by Cid Corman. This poem, I just LOVE it. I think it would serve as a reminder to take each day as a gift and remember to celebrate the little things!! I want this FRAMED.





Another page that moved me was, "Open-billed gulls fighting for fish heads creak like rusted gates." by X. J. Kennedy. I loved this one because what stood out to me what how the author truly felt about these birds.


At first glance, and because of the tone that the book collectively holds, I thought the author was going to be praising these birds. I was thinking, "...gross, who likes seagulls?" because they are a little pesty. But just like anything else, they belong on this earth as much as we do, so I began to read.



The words like "fighting" "fish heads" and "creak like rusted gates" tell me that this author is not too fond of these birds either. He could have used "enjoying" or "searching" for fighting, "food" or just "fish" instead of fish head and "sang like ___" instead of a creak?? But Kennedy chose not to. I think looking this closely at author's choice is a great tool for kids to have under their belt that will help them later with comprehension and author's purpose!!



This would be a great book to use as a mentor text for small moment stories, adding details and narrowing focus!! Love it.




 

Awakening the Heart chapters 1-3:


 

Two potential self-portrait poems:


Frost on Fire

By Dean Rader


A thing that melts can also burn: like a Thicket of ice in the pond, the cold net Of stars, even the hard white ax of the Heart. A man can freeze without getting wet
Just as he can lose without being lost, But winter finds everyone, even though We spend our whole lives eluding it. Frost Reminds us of what is to come — the snow,
The sky, the trees, the skin, the sleet, the sleep. How often have I woken in fear, blind In my unknowing? The woods are dark and deep, Even in the day; still the mind will find
Its way into the light, into the bright Thaw of this life, where we, both flake and flame, Fire and fall through. Let sun daze, let night Show day how to blaze, let death drop its name.

I chose this poem as a potential for my project from “Self Portrait as Wikipedia Entry” by Dean Rader. I liked it because of the language used to describe himself was words like "a" (thing), "its" (blank) and "the" (blank). Rader is clearly channeling his inner Robert Frost with his nature metaphors and references which is fun also. I just really enjoyed this poem because I think as far as self-portraits go, this author's writing is extremely open to interpretation.








Simplify Me When I'm Dead

by Keith Douglas


Remember me when I am dead and simplify me when I'm dead. As the processes of earth strip off the colour of the skin: take the brown hair and blue eye and leave me simpler than at birth, when hairless I came howling in as the moon entered the cold sky. Of my skeleton perhaps, so stripped, a learned man will say "He was of such a type and intelligence," no more. Thus when in a year collapse particular memories, you may deduce, from the long pain I bore the opinions I held, who was my foe and what I left, even my appearance but incidents will be no guide. Time's wrong-way telescope will show a minute man ten years hence and by distance simplified. Through that lens see if I seem substance or nothing: of the world deserving mention or charitable oblivion, not by momentary spleen or love into decision hurled, leisurely arrive at an opinion. Remember me when I am dead and simplify me when I'm dead.

I chose this poem because I really enjoy war poetry and I thought of this as a self-portrait poem, regardless if he is referring to his death. Keith Douglas lived in the UK and wrote poetry all throughout the second World War. You can read more about him here. I think its crazy to think of everything that people want to think about, refer to and remember when someone dies. When Douglas says to remember him, but to simplify him when he's dead too, it made me think about how simple life really can be. When we look at death as a reader/human being, it makes us become more truthful in our opinions. This empowers me to write about what I wouldn't mind would be simplified when I die, and what I would mind about as well. Overall, this self-portrait of death just makes me want to write - which is just as important as anything.



 

All the Small Poems:

By Valerie Worth



My example based on the poem, Tom on page 29:


I did a poem based on an animal as well, which I felt was appropriate. I took a picture outside for #inspiration and she jumped in. Very typical of her personality.


mae


obnoxious mae

sprints into

anything

that can break

like a

child

in an

glassware section

of Bed Bath and Beyond

self-awareness is

not a trait

she possesses

only the words

of my father

can shake her

into;

submission.



 

"Purple Flower Moment" TAKR:


This moment in TAKR refers to something small happening, and being in the moment. after defining the moment, we get a minute to refelct. What does it mean to us? Why are we feeling this way? What are we feeling? Anything that helps us understand these simple moments that turn complex if we think enough.



This is my purple flower moment:



This was a good use of reflection time and kind of getting inside of my own head to figure out why I am feeling the way I am. Reflection is one of the best medicines!! There is always a reason behind everything, if we can analyze and interpret that reason, we are on our way to feeling more like the good feeling or less like the not-so-good ones!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page